If you have been charged with assault in Texas, contact the Vazquez Law Firm or request a free case evaluation. Amber is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to protect your freedom.
Under the Texas Penal Code, one can be convicted of assault if one “intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes or threatens bodily injury to another person” or if one “intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another person or persons with the knowledge that the person will consider that contact to be offensive or undesirable.” (See Texas Penal Code § 22.01(a) below.)
An assault may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending upon the circumstances of the case (see Texas Penal Code § 22.01(b) and (c)). If a public servant or elderly individual is assaulted, one may face enhanced penalties (see Texas Penal Code § 22.01(d)).
More often than not, simple assault is combined with domestic violence and orders of protection (see Texas Penal Code § 22.01(e)). Any domestic assault—commonly referred to as Assault Family Violence (AFV)—will often be linked to family and/or civil law cases. In order to prevent criminal, civil or family consequences, an experienced trial attorney is mandatory for success.
Experienced and aggressive counsel is just a phone call away. Contact Vazquez Law Firm today at (512) 220-8507. We offer a free consultation and are available 24/7 to assist you.
Contact The Vasquez Law Firm to discuss your case and get help now.